Camp Bow Wow Durham Facebook-24 Googleplus-24 Yelp-24

   690 Reviews
2612 S. Miami Blvd
Durham, NC 27703
919-321-8971
Visit Website

Recent Reviews:

July 12, 2018
T.R.
APEX, NC
Organized and efficient. Care about the dogs.
July 11, 2018
Jeremy & Debbie Phipps/Leech
ANN ARBOR, MI
We liked that the facility was cool on a hot day, the staff was friendly and knew the dogs and their owners, and the pickup process was quick.
July 11, 2018
M.J.J.
MEMPHIS, TN
easy to book and accommodated us when we were in town from Memphis
July 5, 2018
Yolanda McDonald
RALEIGH, NC
My dog likes you guys, so I like you guys. I love that he is being socialized and that he can get training at the same time.
July 5, 2018
C.J.
WAKE FOREST, NC
Bear came home last Sunday with a massive ear infection. I took him to the vet and he is on medication. I just have to wonder why the groomer didn't spot it when he had his bath that morning? Otherwise it was a great stay. [NAME REMOVED]
June 30, 2018
K.C.
DURHAM, NC
You guys are amazing! You clearly love all the pups that come to spend time with you. You have also taken the time to get to know the dog owners and the customer service offered has been incredible. When we had our baby and dropping off our dog became a bit tricky, you came out to the car to get our dog (and did this for months) to help. This just doesn’t happen much these days. Simply the best!
June 29, 2018
J.A.
Durham, NC
Updated review: I WILL NEVER RETURN to this facility again. I tried to see past the negative reviews but it's apparent that the majority of the staff seem annoyed by dogs and have no pride in the job they are doing. The receptionist, Coleen is sweet and was extremely accommodating. It's unfortunate she has to work here. The older receptionist Theresa is unwelcoming and rude over the phone. The manager, Alvin, is unconcerned and unwilling to adhere to client concerns. Alvin had an attitude when I came to pick up my dog early because I watched his employee excessively spraying my dog with the water bottle while he was sniffing around the yard not bothering anybody. If I am spending my money at a facility, I expect my dog to receive top notch care. Period, no ifs ands or buts about it. Furthermore, if I have a concern it should be addressed immediately. For the second day in a row, I specifically asked them to not place my dog in a yard with a counselor because she is far too trigger happy with the spray bottle. Not even thirty minutes after, I looked again and he is back in the yard with her! I had to leave my job to pick up my dog because this same counselor was excessively spraying my dog while he was playing. They're supposed to play. Is this not a doggie daycare?! As an experienced kennel technician and now vet tech, I can tell you their staff is highly unexperienced. I have worked as a camp counselor at another CBW location and the job is to facilitate play amongst the dogs. Not excessively spray them for it. I was not even allowed to walk around the yard with the spray bottle in hand nor did o desire too. It looks bad and there are other ways to manage a play yard. Common sense is apparently not common here! In the event that dogs do get too rowdy, body blocking is an effective technique to utilize. Please learn how to properly do the job! I am utterly disgusted with the way my dog was treated. I will be taking him to the Chapel Hill location from now on. Never again!
June 29, 2018
A.B.G.
Chapel Hill, NC
The counsellors are caring and Shiloh always seems to be very happy when he goes to camp and then returns home tired and well cared for.
June 28, 2018
B.B.S.
DURHAM, NC
The staff!
June 27, 2018
M.R.B.A.
CARY, NC
Provide two beds when two dogs boarding together.
June 20, 2018
R.G.
DURHAM, NC
Your staff remember me and my dog even though we don’t come in much. They also remember my former dog and talk fondly of her, which makes me happy.
June 13, 2018
Robbie Watlington
Durham, NC
Excellent, both for my two dogs and myself.
June 7, 2018
James & Joanna VanAuken
Durham, NC
Dogs loved it
June 6, 2018
L.S.
TAMPA, FL
The cameras were great!
May 31, 2018
M.C.
COLUMBIA, SC
Staff was friendly and kind while dealing with my unique situation. Lost some points in this review solely due to the last day of boarding and the confusion that resulted upon pick up. I realized my dog wouldn’t need to be boarded for as long as I intended and called Camp Bow Wow on Friday, 5/25. I mentioned that I would pick up my dog on Sunday, 5/27 instead of Monday, 5/28. I also asked that my dog get a nail cut and bath before pickup so my account would have a zero balance. I live out of state and was only utilizing this establishment because my mother was a patient at Duke. Upon pickup the receptionist had no record of the change to my dogs boarding dates and the bath and nail trim was recorded for the next day instead of on Sunday like I requested. I asked if they could still complete the bath and nail trim so they took my dog to the back. While waiting for my dog to complete the bath and nail trim I noticed my dog reappear on the camera in the playyards. I asked the representative and she had no idea why they brought her back to the playyards instead of to the front. Whenerver my dog came to the lobby I noticed her nails hadn’t been cut like I requested. So I inquired about a refund. The representative had some issues with the machine but eventually they were able to refund me $20. While waiting for my dog to finish the bath and receive a refund I found out that Camp Bow Wow fed my dog the incorrect amount of food sometime during her stay. I specifically separated her food into daily ziplock bags and asked for them to feed her one ziplock bag per day in the morning. If she doesn’t eat all of her food in one setting, I asked for them to leave it out for the day in case she decides to eat it later. Since I picked up my dog a day early I anticipated getting some food back, instead I did not. Whenever I questioned this the representative said my dog was on a free feed so they basically just give her more food when her bowl is empty. The receptionist had no idea when she ran out of food which wouldn’t of been an issue if she was fed one ziplock bag a day as I instructed. I was also annoyed because had she of stayed an extra day she would not of had food for Monday and I was not called or notified that her food supply I provided was running low.
May 30, 2018
Marie/Keith Quimby
WAKE FOREST, NC
Friendly staff. Great hours
May 24, 2018
S.G.D.
CHAPEL HILL, NC
We presume the owner of the franchise is at the front desk on a regular basis. On a number of occasions we found her approach to be gruff and, at times, unprofessional. During our last visit she was eating fast food at the counter (biting and chewing while checking us out), which was really unpleasant. She would clearly benefit from a training course on customer service. The other annoyance was were were not able to view the pet cam for the 8 days our dog was at Camp Bow Wow. When I asked about this at check out, they said yes, they were having problems but the router was going to be replaced tomorrow. It should not take more than a week to replace a router. Consider keeping an extra on hand for such failures. So, we love the location of this place (on the way to the airport) and the care our pup receives, but the customer service at the front desk makes us want to take our business elsewhere. Hope this feedback can be used constructively to improve. Thanks.
Response From Camp Bow Wow Durham
May 24, 2018
While we do have several females that work our front desk, none of them are the owner. I am sorry that was a presumption you had. Upon review of the cameras we did see that she was eating a lunch due to us being short staffed and her only being able to take a small break. Also on the camera we noticed that she sat her lunch to the side and did not in fact continue to eat while you were in her presence. As for the cameras, we did post notices about the issues. We had a server go out, not a router. It does take a little longer to get that issue fixed. Not only did we have to order a new server from Colorado but then techs from the company that provides service for our webcams had to come out from Colorado and reinstall all software and reconnect all cameras. Then once that was finished Spectrum had to come out and replace any of their equipment that wasn't working with the new server and set up new IP addresses for all the cameras. I do apologize for any inconvenience that it may have caused you to not have the cameras available but it did take a little more than "replacing a router".
May 23, 2018
E.J.H.
WILMINGTON, NC
Great staff that recognizes my dog, which is very comforting!
May 10, 2018
Victor Borba
CHAPEL HILL, NC
Mel and ziah got exausthed and very happy Was awesome
May 9, 2018
A.V.H.
RALEIGH, NC
My pup is always happy to go there. Everyone is so friendly and I like that the babies can go inside and outside