LaVida Massage of Ann Arbor, MI Facebook-24 Googleplus-24 Yelp-24

   1188 Reviews
2793 Plymouth Rd. Suite D
Ann Arbor, MI 48105
734.222.1020
Visit Website

Recent Reviews:

February 23, 2017
H.S.
MI
Deep tissue massage
February 22, 2017
P.A.
ANN ARBOR, MI
I recently bought my boyfriend a massage at LaVida, his appointment for an hour-long massage was at 4:00, but he was called back at 4:04 and was walking out of the building at 4:52. So not only did his appointment start late but it only ended up being about a 45-minute massage rather than the 60-minute massage that I had paid for. Shortly after the massage started, his masseuse asked whether the applied pressure was enough. He politely said that she could put a little more pressure and immediately after this she began applying an extreme amount of pressure to the point where it was painful and very uncomfortable. She also performed questionable techniques such as digging her elbow into his scapula, as well as pulling his skin on his shoulders up into a pinch and holding it for 10+ seconds. This particular manner of massage continued for the remaining time and was to the point that he said that he genuinely felt that she was upset with him for asking for a little more pressure. While massages can often be a little painful, the concerning thing was that he was never once again asked whether the pressure was comfortable or not. Their only verbal interactions were the initial question about pressure at the very beginning of the massage and then when she told him to roll over onto his back. He also has had several massages and has never experienced the pain nor the techniques involved with this particular massage. Days removed from the massage he is still experiencing some pain and discomfort in his back. I got this massage for him with the intent that it would be a relaxing and stress-relieving experience, and it was the exact opposite. I am very disappointed with his experience at LaVida and I feel I must leave a negative review for the services that were provided in the hope that others can avoid such an unpleasant event. In summary, we received 75% of the purchased service and it was an extremely unpleasant experience.
Response From LaVida Massage of Ann Arbor, MI
February 23, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. To protect our clients' privacy, we don't discuss their information with others, but I do thank you for letting us know that your boyfriend was not happy with his experience at LaVida. I have reached out to him directly so that I can learn more about his experience in his own words. All of our sessions include 5 minutes at the beginning for discussion, planning for the massage, and time for the client to prepare & get on the massage table, then 50 minutes hands-on time, and 5 minutes at the end for the client to redress, discuss the massage, its immediate results, and for the massage therapist to offer observations & suggestions for client's self-care & future sessions. Regarding pressure, we always desire that clients let us know at any time during the session if they want any change in pressure, technique or anything else that will make them more comfortable. Communication is very important, but we also do not want to verbally check in too many times, thus distracting the client! The "pinching" technique you described immediately calls to my mind on method of Myofascial Release Therapy, or one variation of Trigger Point Release therapy. Thank you again for reaching out! ~Andrea Kalina, Lead Massage Therapist, LaVida Massage of Ann Arbor
February 20, 2017
L.W.
BOSSIER CITY, LA
Everyone was very friendly and was willing to accommodate our personal requests.
February 19, 2017
A.W.
ANN ARBOR, MI
I like the rooms and the massage therapists in general. The price is affordable and a nice atmostphere.
February 19, 2017
B.J.
ANN ARBOR, MI
Even though our reservation was not booked in the couples room, the team corrected the situation very quickly and the front desk attendant gave us a discount. Both masseuses were very responsive to requests during the massage.
February 13, 2017
J.W.
MI
Therapists ask which area their clients would like to have worked on, that's respectful.
February 11, 2017
C.B.
MI
Great atmosphere and affordable for the working class!
February 10, 2017
L.D.
48105, MI
Super convenient and affordable! Also very high quality services.
February 9, 2017
C.T.
Ann Arbor, MI
Clean and methodical
February 6, 2017
K.S.
ANN ARBOR, MI
The staff made the experience comfortable and relaxing.
February 6, 2017
H.H.
Ann arbor, MI
Valerie is an excellent massage therapist. She does a great job with both stretching and massage and I always feel better after an appointment. I highly recommend Lavida and Valerie.
February 5, 2017
K.E.
ANN ARBOR, MI
The facial I had was awesome, never anything like the one that was given during my visit! She is awesome!
February 4, 2017
J.J.
ANN ARBOR, MI
Very professional! Heather and valerie are the best!
February 2, 2017
A.C.
MI
Very professional, great atmosphere, awesome therapist!
February 1, 2017
R.L.
Ann Arbor, MI
scheduling is very straight forward, quality of massage excellent. The building and ambience are probably just OK
January 30, 2017
D.A.
ANN ARBOR, MI
Staff, hours, location, ambiance, music....and of course the "stars" that are working there - Valery is my absolute favorite, because I feel terrific after each and every session! Thank you all!
January 29, 2017
S.K.
CANTON, MI
Very friendly staff! Very relaxing and helpful.
January 29, 2017
T.H.
YPSILANTI, MI
They are affordable and you have great therapists!
January 27, 2017
C.H.
MILL VALLEY, CA
Heavenly massage by Heather!
January 26, 2017
J.F.
ANN ARBOR, MI
Always really nice service